top of page

The Committee 

Here at Comann Eachdraidh Eirisgeidh, we are driven by a single goal; to do our part in making the islands a better place for everyone to enjoy and appreciate.   

The Formation of Comann Eachdraidh Eirisgeidh

Isle of Eriskay
A group of islanders met in 2009 to discuss the option of starting a Comann Eachdraidh for the island as Eriskay is so alive with heritage and culture and there was a great danger this valuable information would be lost. As a result, a constituted group was formed on 17th March 2010.  It was initially an unincorporated association but in 2018 it became a SCIO.

Our aim is to research, identify and present the most sustainable and appropriate way in which CEE (Comann Eachdraidh Eirisgeidh (Eriskay Historical Society)) …..REST OF CONSTITUTION AIMS.

CEE have installed temporary heritage exhibitions in the Eriskay Community Hall over the last four years, however, due to other hall uses (including sports) the exhibition must be dismantled and removed in the evenings. 

Comann Eachdraidh Eirisgeidh are fortunate to have the use of the Eriskay Community Hall where we hold an exhibition every summer.         

Committee of Eriskay Historical Society

 

COMMITTEE 2022/23

CHAIRPERSON - Angus MacKinnon

VICE CHAIRPERSON - Iagan MacInnes

 

SECRETARY - Marie MacMillan

 

TREASURER - Morag MacKinnon 

COMMITTEE MEMBERS - Mary Alex MacInnes & Donald J MacInnes

 

ERISKAY SCHOOL REDEVELOPMENT PROJECT WORKER - Sandra MacInnes

PROJECT SUPPORT WORKER - Kathryn M MacInnes 

Timeline

2021

2017

17th March 2010

2009

2023

The creation of the build, dates info etc.

In 2021 we took over the ownership of the former Eriskay School and Schoolhouse with plans to convert to a Heritage Centre, Tearoom and an office base for Comann Each nan Eilean – The Original Eriskay Pony Society with a view to expand in consultation with the community of Eriskay.

Since our formation we have curated temporary heritage exhibitions in the Eriskay Community Hall. However, due to the hall being a well used  assett this  meant that it was increasingly difficult to store and archive the information without a base, therefore, in 2017 we decided to take on the rental of the community office in the Eriskay Community Hall. By having this base we had the facilities to arrange our exhibitions much easier which have been very popular.

As a result, a constituted group was formed on 17th March 2010.  The islanders were so enthusiastic about a constituted body preserving our heritage that they donated photographs, artefacts and more importantly their stories, customs and traditions to the Comann Eachdraidh to a point that we had gathered a large amount of local information.

A group of islanders met in 2009 to discuss the option of starting a Comann Eachdraidh for the island as Eriskay is so alive with heritage and culture and there was a great danger this valuable information would be lost

The Building of Eriskay School ERISKAY SCHOOL, SOCIAL HUB OF THE ISLAND. WEDDINGS STILL HELD THERE UP TO ?? 1996??

In 1745 Bonnie Prince Charlie first landed on Scottish soil on Eriskay to commence the Jacobite rising, leading eventually to the Highland Clearances;

 

1840’s- Clearances/Forced Emigration -

Timeline / Landmarks

  •  

  • WW1

  • Herring Boom

  • the Eriskay Jersey which was also unique to Eriskay, identifying the fishermen if lost as sea;

  • Emigration 1924

  • Renovation to the old Church

Fr Allan MacDonald becomes Parish Priest on Eriskay   (Resident in??)

  • FR ALLAN – HELPING PEOPLE IN HARDSHIP AND BUILDING OF ST MICHAEL’S CHURCH.

  •  

  • Introduction of the telegram

  • the introduction of the Drift Net and

  • The Eriskay Love Lilt – The famous Hebridean folk song written by???

  • The building of St Michael’s Church House

  • The building of Eriskay Church

  • WW2

  • the SS Politician ran aground off Rosinish point on Eriskay, inspiring the story of Whisky Galore!

  • The first piped water supply on the island.

  • Electricity arrived on the island

  • Horsa built at the school

  • Ring Net fishing industry which created a lot of employment on the island;

  • - 1972 the formation of “Comann Each nan Eilean – The Eriskay Pony Society” to help with the preservation of the Eriskay Pony breed which is unique to Eriskay and classed as “critical” on the Rare Breeds Survival Trust Watch List; ERISKAY PONY - “Comann Each nan Eilean – The Eriskay Pony Society” was formed in 1972 to help with the preservation of the Eriskay Pony breed which is unique to Eriskay and classed as “critical” on the Rare Breeds Survival Trust Watch List.

 

  • Building of the Acarsaid peir

  • Stations of the Cross in Acarsaid

  • 1959/60 – Eriskay Football Club formed

  • First council houses on the island were built – St Michael’s Drive

  • the opening of our first public house on Eriskay aptly named “Am Politician”

  •  

  • Old hall was built

  • The introduction of the Eriskay car ferry which allowed us to drive our vehicles across to Uist. (previously, if you bought a vehicle to the island it was transported on the deck of one of the fishing boats);

  • Our community-owned shop, Co-Chomunn Eirisgeidh was built

  • the opening of Eriskay Community Hall in June, 1984 by Prince Charles and Princess Diana;

  • WEAVERS CASTLE – THE LAST PIRATE OF THE UK??

  •  

  • Last Ring Net fishing boat on the island – Skippinish song

  • the opening of the causeway by the Earl and Countess of Wessex in 2002 which led more recently to the introduction of the car ferry to Barra - the final link in opening the Hebridean island chain for vehicular access.

  •  

In the 800-1000 AD- The Vikings arrived on Eriskay. The name of the island is an old Norse Norse name, Eiriksøy meaning “Eric’s Isle” 

bottom of page